The Professional Certified Investigator (PCI)® credential provides demonstrable proof of an individual's knowledge and experience in case management, evidence collection, and preparation of reports and testimony to substantiate findings. Those who earn the PCI are ASIS board-certified in investigations.

Eligibility Requirement

High school diploma or GED equivalent and five years of investigations experience with at least two years in case management.

Is the CPI right for you?

Listen to this free 60-minutes webinar led by a panel of board-certified PCIs. Gain a better understanding of the “nuts and bolts” such as eligibility requirements, application process, exam preparation requirements and options, testing, and recertification.

To start the recorded webinar: Click here

About the Exam

The PCI examination consists of 125 multiple-choice questions covering tasks, knowledge, and skills in three primary domains that have been identified by professional investigators as required areas of competency in this field. All exam questions come from the official reference books.

PCI exam domains:

  • Case Management (29%)

  • Investigative Techniques and Procedures (50%)

  • Case Presentation (21%)

The PCI credential is applicable to a wide range of specialized investigations including:

  • arson

  • ​child abuse

  • ​economic crime

  • ​forensics

  • ​gaming

  • ​health care fraud

  • ​high-tech crime

  • ​insurance fraud

  • ​loss prevention

  • ​narcotics

  • ​property & casualty

  • ​threat assessment

  • ​workplace violence